THE LASHES CONCERT REVIEW, Katie and I had an awesome coversation

April 29, 2006, 8:07 p.m.

I WENT TO THE LASHES CONCERT LAST NIGHT! OH MY FREAKIN GOD THEY ARE AMAZING! No joke.

So I got there around 7:30 (pm obviously) and this band (the Catch I think it was) was onstage. They were pretty awesome too. So they were playing and I was looking around for the Lashes, because they like music so I was pretty sure they were watching. So I found Ben by his belts, Jacob by his awesome hat, and Nate by his hair. I didn't see the others but they were most likely there, it was dark so I couldn't see very well.

Aaand then the Catch finished up and the Lashes started getting their equipment out. I like watching bands set up. I dunno, I just find it interesting.

And then they finished and went offstage somewhere and the lights onstage dimmed and the venue people started playing cricket sounds.

Then the band came onstage.

"They have to play cricket music to tell us we're late?" Ben said (or something like that).

Then they talked about Jacob's "badditude".

They then played a few songs very awesomely and then Ben wanted to know what the latest gossip was around Tacoma.

So I could not pass up this opportunity.

"Today at school there was rotten vegetables in the garbage can."

"Who put them there?"

"I put them there."

Yeah its kind of lame but still.

You see, yesterday during class I was smelling something really bad. I couldn't figure out what it was until I was getting my notebook out of my backpack. The smell was coming from in my backpack. I then remembered that I had a tin of vegetables in there. And that they had been there for a few days. Well they were in a tin, and I wanted to keep the tin, so I went over to the garbage can and dumped it out. It was one of the worst smells ever. It was worse than my dog's farts. It reminded me of the smells at the waste water treatment plant where I went on a field trip to in 7th grade. To describe the smells there, I usually say that it's the only smell that actually made me feel like hurling.

No one noticed that I'd dumped them out. I decided not to say it was me. So I was holding my nose and stuff and the smell started to fill the room...the teacher was wondering what it was and opened up the windows and the door and I was just sitting there laughing my head off.

So then he wanted to know if anyone could beat mine and then he said people could think about it during the next song.

The whole time (I was in the second row by the way) I was dancing like a maniac. Ben himself had killer dance moves. They all look like they were having fun up there.

After a few songs they asked again if anyone could beat mine. My sister decided to say that the levy passed and that School of the Arts was saved.

Ben: (pause) But was there any making out?

Chya and thennnn uhhh about two more songs and then it was over. We talked to Nate for awhile about standup bass and how he knocked out his tooth with his bass a few days ago (it got put back in though) and Ted Leo and the Pharmacists and his hair and what it would be like if he cut it (we told him not to).

Then we moved on to the merch table and I got Jacob to sign my little Lashes card thing and waited for Ben to finish signing some other person's stuff. So he finished that and then looked at my sister and I.

"Hi," I said.

"Hi." He took my sister's card-y thing and signed it. "I was watching you guys, you were funny," he said, or something like that. He was going to sign mine then but someone else wanted him to sign their CD booklet and he told me to wait a second but then I got kicked out because that's what the venue people do after 9:00 if you're under 21. Damn, I hate being under 21 sometimes.

And that is it. It was pretty awesome.


Katie and I had an awesome conversation today. I will not say what it was about because it's private but I will just say that it was awesome. You wish you were me so you could know what it was about.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land