Elementary school, The Bad Seed, Church

February 25, 2006, 11:53 p.m.

I didn't have school yesterday because of senior conferences, but the elementary schools did so Sonia and I walked over to our old elementary school to visit our 5th grade teacher. I couldn't stop reminiscing and saying "Can you believe it's been six years?"

Then we went inside the building and I was all "Oh my god everything is so familiar...the stairs, the low ceilings, the fish tank with salmon in it, the short hallway, the lockers...oh man. Elementary school memories.

So then we stood outside the door for awhile. Neither of us wanted to be the first to go in. We were both a little nervous for some reason. I don't know why.

"You go first," Sonia would say.

"No, you," I would reply.

That went on for about a minute until Sonia just went in first. It was pretty stupid, the nervousness. Of course she remembered us.

She did the predictable "wow, you two have sure grown up a lot" thing, but you know...I've never really hated it much when people say stuff like that. I kind of like it even. I don't know why.

Yeah so we talked for half an hour. Some other of her former students from two years before came and visited too. They seemed to be surprised to see us there.

"So they're from six years ago?" I heard one of them say.

It's weird that they were only in first grade when we left, graduating from 5th grade. I don't even know anyone that goes to my old school anymore. The last people I knew left last year and are now at Annie Wright and Mason.

Oh SNAP, I take that back. I know a kindegartner there. How could I forget about her? Dang. I'm tired I guess.

I watched the Bad Seed tonight. I'd seen half of it on New Year's Eve in 1998. Crazy that I remember the year.

I was only 9, 10 days away from being 10 so I got a little scared and stopped watching it. It's not all that scary though. Just kind of suspenseful. It's not worse than Alfred Hitchcock's the Rear Window (which, by the way, is one of the awesomest movies ever....and I'd seen at least 5 times before that New Year's eve).

Okay well I have to get up early tomorrow...at 10:00 the latest. I have to go to church. I don't like church. It's uncomfortable and I always get really bored and I always fall asleep and I don't really like Christian songs.

I can stick it out for a week.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land