I really really really hate frets

March 23, 2006, 5:07 p.m.

...and I always thought I was the only one.

"...after having played in a string orchestra for six years, then picking up the bass for the first time, I put it back down and picked up another one without frets. I HATE frets. Sometimes, they are needed to produce just the right sound, but I prefer having more range to my note than that allowed by frets.. also makes sliding MUCH easier and more fun..."

"...I like fretless instruments because they slide, they�re organic. I hate frets. I hate being confined..."

"...Probably because the violin was the first string instument I learned, I fell in love with the Ashbory the first time I picked it up. The short scale, and most of all the lack of frets made it perfect for me. I hate frets. I feel I have no control over the intonation..."

"...I just picked up my acoustic guitar for the first time in six months and I just have to say - I f***ing hate frets. If they're not necessary on violins, violas, cellos, and upright bass then why are they necessary for guitars? I didn't need them when I played violin, why do I need them now?..."

I thought I was the only one who hated frets. Like one of those people above said, I feel like I have no control over the intonation. It annoys me to no end. I freaking want to try a fretless guitar. But do they even have those?

Edit

Oh Lordy look at these beauties:

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land