the Big Three Killed My Baby

June 16, 2004, 2:39 p.m.

I'm going to copy/paste some stuff from my xanga into here, since diaryland is actually letting me update. Yes, I got a Xanga...mostly to write in there, and then when Diaryland lets me update here, I copy/paste what I wrote then into here. Then I don't have to remember what I was going to write before.

I'm listening to the White Stripes right now. I love them, they're really cool. I know a lot of people don't like them, because there's no bass guitarist and they don't like Meg's drumming, but I like them...

I really like the songs Hello Operator, Little Bird, Apple Blossom, Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground, Hotel Yorba, I'm Finding it Harder to be a Gentleman, Offend in Every Way, Astro, the Big Three Killed My Baby, and Jimmy the Exploder. And the Hardest Button to Button. And Your Southern Can is Mine. Yeah. I can't decide which one I like best, I just like them all. Death Letter is a good song too.

You know what's interesting about the song the Big Three Killed My Baby? I was on IMDB.com a few days ago, and on Jack's message boards, someone posted a quote from Jack on the song. Well I'll just copy/paste it into here...

Jack: "I�m pretty fed up with cars�I don�t know what you call it when Buddhist monks whip themselves, but I have that on my hand, I have three hose clamps on my hand, for the Big Three. And somebody just made me a necklace with a piece of machinery that says �Property of Ford Motor Company.� I have a big hatred for that, for having spent so much money and time on something that hasn�t changed in over a hundred years, same design of the engine in a car, it�s not progressing at all. That�s why I say, �Don�t let them tell you the future�s electric/Because gasoline�s not measured in metric.� The idea that they won�t make any money if they make a good car. Kind of a shame. That�s where we�re from, that�s what this whole town is about. Everybody works for the car company, and that�s what I do, I work on commercials filming for the car companies. And it�s a tremendous waste of money."

Jack: "I just can't stand cars. I think they are the worst money pits and killing machines of all time. Every car I've ever had has broken down, like, every week (points to 2 rings and bracelet). These are hose clamps from a car engine. I wear them as a symbol. I wanted to organize an anti-automotive festival in Detroit, but it never came together. It's such a farce. The companies are so tied in with the oil companies. For God's sake, we have wars over the oil to put gas in our cars." Jack: "Everybody, all they do is spend all their money on the car companies," he said. "It seems to be this thing that everybody just accepts, like that's the way it's gonna be, and nobody complains about it. I don't understand it."

Jack: "The funny thing about that song is that we played that on a local public television channel here in Detroit a few months ago and they asked us to play two other ones. In the end, they wouldn't air 'The Big Three Killed My Baby.' They were sponsored by Chrysler."

Jack: "Most of the time I don't care at all about [politics]. I never voted for president because I don't care for it. "The Big 3 Killed My Baby" [a song from an earlier album] hits home because of where we're from and how much I think the big three [auto companies] rip off everyone. It seems really funny to me that nobody cares. The car has been ruining my life at all times.

I wonder if that's true? I agree with him, he's so cool, I love people who don't care what other people think about their oppinion.

This was also posted by the same person in the same post:

Interesting Fact: Michael Moore (Roger & Me, Bowling For Columbine) uses this song as the intro for many of his speaking engagements.

Sidenote on this theme: The cover of The Big Three Killed My Baby single has Jack and Meg standing next to a picture of a car engine, with sign "Insert Money Here" taped to the engine.

I'm with Jack on this issue.

Oh by the way, does anyone know if you can change the time zone of where you are on Xanga? Because I think it's on Eastern time, and I'm on Pacific Time. Just wondering.

Okay and then I wrote this last night...

I just got back from my viola recital. Everyone says I did really well, but I know they're just saying that to be nice. Why do people always do that? They can never seem to tell the truth. If they tell the truth, then it's a lot easier to know what to work on to get better next time.

Maybe they don't want to hurt my feelings or anything, but...oh I dunno...

Well haha this is a very long entry so I really am going to go now, bye!

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land