Who are you?

Thursday, Jul. 23, 2009, 18:46

Got a haircut yesterday. It looks good when it's straightened, but right now when my hair is naturally wavy it doesn't look quite as nice. I need to buy another flat iron...damn airport baggage handling employees that broke my last one...

The new people moved in down the street a few days ago. Three kids under the age of 10. Very noisy. I suppose they're a nice family (older parents, I think they've adopted all the kids from various parts of the world), but I'm still really kind of bummed out that the previous owners are divorcing and sold the house. Even though they had very rocky relationships with some of the other neighbors. Especially with the neighborhood dog-custody dispute going on...

They lived their 16 years, some of my best memories of childhood have to do with being over there playing all day. Playmobil sets, the swingset outside, the sandbox, movies on TV (they had cable and we didn't)... N was only 6 months old when they moved there, and I was 4 or 5.

I guess eventually I will warm up to the new people more, but right now I just miss things how they used to be. It's my classic "I Hate Change" syndrome. It doesn't matter how nice they are, I just want things to go back to normal.

I remember the neighborhood circa 2001...the J.'s nextdoor, us, K, N, S, Mrs. H, Mr. and Mrs D, and the couple at the end of the block with the black lab, Olive (not a very nice dog) and golden retriever, Blue.

The other side of the block I didn't know as well. The O.'s, the two houses of people I didn't know, the L.'s, T, the K.'s, M, and M. It's a lot different now...

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land