Finally D-Land is working againnnn

Monday, Jul. 19, 2010, 20:17

17:54
What the fuck, D-land? Why aren't you working? I keep hitting the refresh button but to no avail. So I'm writing this in Wordpad and will copy/paste it in later. Actually, this reminds me... lately I've been worrying about whether someday Diaryland will close, and all of my entries will be gone. I joined this site 7 years ago as a 14 year old....a lot has happened since then! I really don't want to lose 7 years worth of entries. 7 years of my life chronicled here. I wish there was a way to back everything up. I think I may start trying to do so once D-land is up and running again. Even if it means going to every single entry and copying and pasting it. Although I don't even know where I'd paste it to. I still have to think about that...

Not that I will leave here! Not by any means. This is just for extra security...

My aunt is here right now. She's driving me crazy :( She's been over 3 times in the past 36 hours. I know she has to go through all the old family photos but still....and it's annoying me that she's throwing out so much stuff. This morning before she got here I went through the "trash" pile and stole everything I wanted...including photos of ships that my grandfather must have taken in the Navy during WWII. I also salvaged some photos of my sister and I as kids, and two books full of my grandmother's calligraphy (she was so good). I hope she didn't notice that the trash pile was about half the size as when she left yesterday. But even if she did, it doesn't matter. I don't care much. I am keeping it. Whatever.

I'm using my sister's old laptop right now. It has a much better battery life than mine, and a lot more memory, but it's a Windows computer. I definitely prefer a Mac! Especially for writing in French. It is so much more difficult trying to type accents and other special characters on a PC than it is on a Mac. On a PC you have to have a number pad on your keyboard (this laptop doesn't have one, nor does it have a num lock...) and then memorize a numerical code and enter it while holding the alt key. On a Mac, you hold down the option key, a letter key depending on what symbol you want (a grave, accent mark, tilde, two dots, the ^, etc.) and then the letter you want it applied to. SO much easier. I don't remember numbers very well so memorizing numerical codes is a pain in the ass for me. I just wish I could afford to upgrade my iBook to a MacBook or something. Something a bit faster. But my computer still works fairly well, I shouldn't be complaining.

Shit, she has "Law and Order" on the TV. I hate this show. It's so cheesy and annoying. I sat through one episode, then thought, "Thank god, it's over." Unfortunately there's another episode that is just starting. Whyyyyyy? Why the hell would anyone want to watch this? It's tacky as hell.

Crap, D-land is still not working. This is getting me nervous. I remember the glory days of this website... a few others from the Elijah Wood Fan Club (a guild on Neopets) had journals here, so I got one too. I made some really good friends both there in the EWFC and here on D-land, all of whom seem to have disappeared...I haven't spoken to any of them in years. I wonder how they all are. I'm ashamed to admit I've already forgotten some of their names. Rhiannon I remember....she liked Nine Inch Nails...and Jennifer....she was obsessed with AFI and Davey Havok. Andrea was another one from the EWFC. I don't think she had an account here....but I remember her username elsewhere as being pepsigrl or something along those lines. And then there was the girl who was a Brian Molko fanatic. DarkRaven I think her username was. I'm afraid I don't remember her real name. She was quite nice though.

(Ugh, she just took my dog outside....at least she remembered to put her on a leash. Although she didn't figure out the chain correctly. I just hope my dog doesn't escape...)

Anyway...let's see....who else was there....gosh I remember talking to a lot of people here about Lord of the Rings and Pirates of the Caribbean (the first one...the best one!) because they had just come out. It was right in the midst of LOTR mania. That's where the username for this journal comes from, in fact. Since I was a huge fan of Lord of the Rings, I named this after Elijah Wood, who was my infatuation. "elijah1981"...1981 being the year of his birth, of course.

OH! ASHLEY! Yessss I remember her now! Orlijah Blood, aka zen_girl1. Oh dear I'd almost forgotten! I wonder how all the EWFC members are doing now, 7 years later. I remember posting there every day. They all had a huge part in helping me get through some of those really difficult years when I first entered high school. If any of you ever decide to come back to Diaryland and happen to see this, thank you!!

I also remember the day that I got promoted to "2nd in Command" at the EWFC. I was so stoked. I felt so honored. It's kind of funny looking back on it now, but at the time it was very serious. Good memories!

20:13
My aunt (finally) left about half an hour ago. Unfortunately, she took the trash pile with her this time, so I wasn't able to look through it and salvage anything that she'd added since yesterday. Damn it. And also unfortunately she said she'll be back at 8:00 in the morning tomorrow. And she'll be calling me at 7:30. She didn't ask if she could. She just said she was. Ugh. Manners, much? Jeez. I know a lot of people would just tell me to be more assertive with her, but that doesn't work with her....she's very....difficult.....

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land