First flash of freedom

Tuesday, Jun. 15, 2010, 15:06

Okayyyy so I'm going to copy/paste my review of the show from tumblr here:


There, that's a better photo from the show that a professional took :)


So I am just going to write some stuff about the show. Because it was amazing.


I had never seen Tom Petty before. The last time he was here two years ago, I didn’t go because I wasn’t a fan yet (darn it!) and wouldn’t become a fan until a month after the concert. So when I found out they would be coming back for the 2010 tour, I could not pass it up.


I am so glad I went. The Gorge Amphitheatre, which is where the concert was, is across the mountains in the middle of the desert, a 3-4 hour drive from where I live. It was completely worth it. It was also very worth spending a few hours waiting in lines a mile long (not exaggerating) and getting slightly burned under the hot sun.


The fun started when we were in the 5 mile long line of cars, inching closer to the parking lots. It was only a two lane road, so it took over an hour to get from the highway to the amphitheatre. We got through almost two full Heartbreakers albums (their self-titled debut album and Hard Promises) while we were waiting. When we were almost to the parking lots, I noticed flashing lights coming our direction from behind us in the other lane. A trooper car drove past, then a huge tour bus (I'm assuming it was Tom's...?) went by, followed by another trooper. I suppose that will be the closest I will ever get to him!


Waiting in line in the parking lot after getting out of the car was a bit interesting though. All the cars that were dirty had things like "Tom Petty FTW" or "Tom Petty rules" written on them. I wish I had taken pictures of it! There was also Tom Petty music blaring from cars in every direction. People with homemade T-shirts that said "Ready for Petty" and "Tom Petty Or Bust." People had come from all over the region - Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and Canada. Interesting atmosphere. Everyone was completely into it.


The line to get into the amphitheatre was so long that we missed the first part of Joe Cocker's set. However, the part we did catch was fantastic. I'm ashamed to admit that I had never heard of him before learning of this tour! I'm now very appreciative of the chance I got to see him.


Joe Cocker and his band played until about 8:45 or 9 pm, and then the stage crew came out and started setting up the Heartbreakers' equipment. Finally, Tom and the band came onstage at about 9:20 and started right into "Kings Highway". I have not been to many concerts, so I don't have much to compare it with, but I thought they sounded really tight, very together. The sound and the music were just incredible.


"Free Fallin" has actually never been one of my favorite songs, but hearing it live was a completely different experience. I know a lot of people really dislike it when the crowd sings along ("I paid to hear the singer, not the audience!") but to me, it only added to the atmosphere, especially during the chorus. It had a sort of surreal quality. "And I'm free.... free fallin'..." The words just seemed to soar into the stars, which were by then quite visible above us in the night sky.


They played several of their new songs. "Good Enough" is really a cool song to hear live. If you think the studio version sounds good, hearing it live was breathtaking. By the end of the song, it had turned into a rocking, bluesy jam session. I also loved hearing "Refugee," which is one of, if not my favorite Heatbreakers song. That was definitely among the highlights of the night.


They played until around 11:00pm, then left the stage. The crowd kept cheering and clapping for what must have been about 5 minutes, and finally they came back out and played 3 more songs - "You Wreck Me," "Mystic Eyes," and ended with "Runnin' Down A Dream."


My expectations were completely exceeded. Watching them, you can’t help but be reminded once again of just how good they are at what they do. They are absolutely brilliant musicians. So talented, all of them - Tom, Mike, Benmont, Ron, Steve and Scott. Tom sounds better than ever. Mike Campbell makes playing the guitar look so EASY (that’s when you know they’re good!) and Benmont is definitely up there among the best rock pianists/keyboardists ever.


This was definitely a night I will remember, and will be sure to see him again if/when he comes back!


The recap from the official website says:
Saturday’s set may be the show of the tour to date. More than 20,000 fans partied in the campgrounds and parking lots on a cloudless summer day before jamming to soulful set from Joe Cocker. The Heartbreakers followed Cocker’s lead and delivered an exhilarating set that kicked off with “King’s Highway” and culminated with an anthemic “Refugee,” Mike Campbell’s custom Rickenbacker ringing out over the Columbia River. The energy from the crowd fueled an absolutely electrifying version of Van Morrison’s “Mystic Eyes” for the encore, drummer Steve Ferrone and bassist Ron Blair providing the pummeling beat as Scott Thurston oozed bluesy harmonica over the top.


The setlist:
Kings Highway
You Don't Know How It Feels
I Won't Back Down
Free Fallin'
Oh Well
Mary Jane's Last Dance
Drivin' Down To Georgia
Breakdown
Jefferson Jericho Blues
First Flash Of Freedom
Running Man's Bible
I Should Have Known It
Good Enough
Learning To Fly
Don't Come Around Here No More
Refugee

Encore:
You Wreck Me
Mystic Eyes
Runnin' Down A Dream

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land