RAY DAVIES TOUCHED MY HAND

Sunday, Nov. 15, 2009, 20:21

Oh my god, Thursday night was really amazing. I saw Ray Davies in San Francisco at the Warfield theater!

I don't remember the exact setlist but this is the setlist from last night's show in LA that someone posted, and it seems to be very similar to the show in San Francisco:

*Acoustic set with Bill Shanley
I Need You
I�m Not Like Everybody Else
Apeman
In A Moment
Dedicated Follower Of Fashion
Hymn For A New Age
Autumn Almanac
Sunny Afternoon

*Full Band
Vietnam Cowboys
After The Fall
�Til The End Of The Day
Where Have All The Good Times Gone
Come Dancing

*Full Band + The Vox Society Choir
Shangri-La
Victoria
Working Man�s Cafe
See My Friends
YRGM
Village Green
Picture Book
Big Sky
Do You Remember Walter
Johnny Thunder
Village Green Preservation Society
Celluloid Heroes
Waterloo Sunset
Days
All Day and All Of The Night

*Full Band Encore
Low Budget

I think there were a few differences but that's pretty much what it was.

Anyway...so for the first half I was in the third row, and the second half I was very lucky and got to move up to the first row. It started off with people sitting down and ended up with everyone on their feet dancing.

At one point, after the first set, people were going right up to the stage reaching their hands out and Ray was touching the hands, so I stuck my hand out too, and he touched my hand :D Which was amazing. RAY DAVIES TOUCHED MY HAND. Hah. I am such a nerd. But I love it.

I could not stop myself from singing/mouthing all the words. The person sitting next to me said, "How old are you? You know all the words." "20." "Really? Very cool...are your parents Kinks fans?" "No, no, not really."

Also got a comment on my good taste in music for someone my age :) The audience's average age was definitely much older than me. But I didn't care, in fact I like it that way.

It was so much fun. I keep reliving it over in my head. During the performance I kept thinking, "I am in the same building as Ray Davies. He is only ten feet away from me. I am singing along with him. I am watching him right now IN PERSON."

A few times I swear he was watching me. Especially when I was dancing in the front row right next to "Dan the Fan" dancing to "Come Dancing"...so great. A. came over during "Come Dancing" and dragged me over to where they were sitting in the front row to dance up front. Ray was RIGHT THERE. My mind was in the clouds, I was in heaven! In fact, my head has been in the clouds ever since. This was an experience I never, ever want to forget.

And how lucky was I?? My first Ray concert, and I get to be in the FRONT ROW. I mean come on, how cool is that?

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land