As the cold sets in, I listen to music without the lyrics

December 15, 2008, 12:30 a.m.

Weirrrd, I just realized that I listen to music differently than most people.

When I listen to music, I rarely even hear the lyrics. (That's not to say I don't hear the singer- I just don't really hear the words. I seem to focus more on the actual sound of the voice.) I really pay attention to the musical part and how it sounds.

Apparently I'm in the minority on this?

I never realized this until tonight. It's so weird.

I started thinking about it when I came across the a group on last.fm called "It's All About the Lyrics" and it got me thinking, "Well, no, that's not true."

Cray-zee.

I did some google searching and found some other people like me:

"I generally don't hear the lyrics to songs very well and so the music is far more of a draw than the words will be."
(link 1)


"When it comes to music, the world appears to be divided into two types of people:

* People who hear the lyrics to a song

* People who don�t hear the lyrics and instead hear only the melody, harmony, and arrangement

I�m definitely the latter type. After a first listen, I can usually pick up my guitar and play the song. But, I can listen to a song a dozen times without having a clue what it�s about."
(link 2)

"It's not that I've "chosen" to ignore the lyrics. When I listen to music, I literally don't even hear the lyrics. They could be singing about clowns and I'd never know. It's just not something my ears listen for I guess."
(link 3)

Hahaha...I'm totally in the same boat as the last person. It's possible for me to absolutely love a song and not have a clue what it's about.

This is not to say that lyrics are unimportant, or that I never listen to them - it's just not the first thing I think about and it's not the most important thing to me.

Which may be another reason as to why I don't like rap. (Lately I've been trying to come up with actual reasons for disliking it instead of just saying, "I don't like it.") Rap places more emphasis on lyrics, and less on the music part. So since the musical part isn't really there, I just get automatically turned off from it.

Okay this is like the fourth time I've edited this entry tonight. I keep thinking of things I want to add.

I should go to bed soon. I've been going to bed at 2 the past few nights, I should try to make it to bed at least a little before then.

There's still snow on the ground. Probably 3/4 of an inch.

And according to weather.com it's about 24 degrees out. Real feel = 12 degrees. That is freaking cold, man. Well, cold for this area. This area rarely gets below freezing.

CRAZY.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land