Browsing though the many great bands and musicians of eras gone by, War is ridiculous

December 01, 2008, 10:54 p.m.

I'm so tired.

I'm doing another horse show this weekend. Kind of spur of the moment. I would have liked more time, cause I didn't know about it before today, but oh well.

I need to get more music. I am growing tired with my current selection. Even though it's 651 songs, or 1.6 days' worth, or 2.76 GB. I need more. I wish I had a lot of money just to spend on music. I would have so much fun with that. I am really enjoying exploring the music of the 50s-80s.

I signed up for an online subscription to XM Radio Online, and I've been listening to that a bit, and I found out about good musical acts such as Frankie Miller and the Beau Brummels.

Yesterday I listened to a bunch of Bill Haley and the Comets. I always read that the Beatles were really inspired by them. They were good. Good solid rock'n'roll.

I think next on my music agenda is the Rolling Stones. I've always been a Beatles person - not because I dislike the Rolling Stones but because I never really paid much attention to them. So I listened to some of their most well known tracks yesterday and they were pretty awesome, so I'm thinking I might go to the record store again sometime soon and buy one of their records.

Records on vinyl are my favorite form of music. It's so fun to flip through rows of old records - you never know exactly what you'll find.

PLUS, the album artwork is so much bigger and is just flat-out COOL. I also love reading the liner notes. I like knowing who is playing what instruments or who is singing backup. Like, on solo Beatle records, it's interesting to see which of them played on each other's records.

I try not to buy too much on iTunes. Even though I am a lazy bum and love it because it's so convenient. Ultimately I have to remind myself how I would prefer to have a physical copy of it. Burning a CD of it doesn't count.

I could listen to music all day.

I really wish there was a career where you could just sit and listen to music all day. Like, really listen to it. Kind of break it down and listen to each part and analyze it. Is it weird that I do that? I get so absorbed into music. It's impossible for me to listen to music while doing homework, because I just end up focusing soley on the music.


So we finished watching the Battle of Algiers today. I am so glad that movie is finished now, it took us three days to watch. I hated it. Yes, it's good to know about history, but I found myself really annoyed with it. I am such a pacifist. I was struck by how often I kept thinking, "Wow, both sides are really stupid. Yes, it would be nice if the Algerians (?) were independent from the French, but resorting to murderous acts of terrorism is not acceptable. And the French should not be torturing the Algerians." I do not understand how the Algerians thought they were any better than the French when they were going around blowing people up and machine-gunning them down but then marching on the steps chanting "Murderers! Murderers!" Excuse me, but what the hell? If you're going to accuse other people of murder you better be sure you aren't guilty of it yourself.

War is ridiculous.

Anyway.

I hope no one reads that, it's just me spewing off random thoughts. I just had to get that out.

Alright....so I guess I will go to bed now.

Sweet...I get to come home at 11:45 tomorrow. No English. Just Polysci and HD101.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land