To Lauren from Grandpa

June 07, 2008, 8:28 p.m.

Hillary Clinton conceded this morning.

My dad found a letter that grandpa wrote to me when I was in first grade, about what life was like for him in the 20s:

Dear Lauren,

I enjoyed your letter very much. When I was your age at school in the 1920's it was a little different.

It was a small town in Minnesota where summers are hot and winters very very cold. Our small school had 2 grades in the same room. In first grade we listened to 2nd graders do their lessons, and saw what we would do and learn next year. In 2nd grade we listened to 1st graders do what we did a year ago.

So kids liked the taste of the paste and often ate a little. I thought it was yucky. My teacher's name was Miss Martin. I liked when she read a little each day from The Wizard of Oz. I hated it when we had to dress in silly costumes for a May Day festival.

We had no school lunches and no school buses. We walked a lot in all weather. There were only a few cars. Horses were common. Their hitching posts and watering troughs were everywhere. They brought our milk, ice (no refrigerators) coal and many other things. In the winter they pulled the sleighs and the drivers let kids hitch rides. They hauled everyone's ashes, everyone burned coal or wood, even in the kitchen. Horse droppings (poop) were everywhere in the street. In summer when barefoot kids had to avoid the "fresh" ones. Kids became experts at avoiding these and "cow pies" in vacant grazing lots.

We sometimes heard mention of a war a few years before, called "The World War". It is now called "World War I", now separate from a later war, called World War II in which I served for 3 years.

Many changes came in the 1920's. Women's dresses' hemline rose from the ground to the knee for ladies. For some women, called "flappers" it rose even higher. Some women began to smoke, drink, use lipstick and work in stores.

Well, Lauren, I hope you can read this.

Love, grandpa


I thought that was kind of funny.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land