Too bad Mark Hamill isn't a superdelegate

May 01, 2008, 9:18 p.m.

Mark Hamill supports Obama! I found links to videos about him talking about Obama (among other things) on YouTube.

I transcribed them (although some words were a bit...unintelligible, a lot of the time because of people laughing or clapping and drowning out his voice):

[My middle son Griffin got a job at the polling place. So we knew he was gonna vote. My older son Nathan works for Matt Groening at Bongo Comics and they were making a Bart Simpson comic SOMETHING SOMETHING SOMETHING

Comic books were banned in my house and to have a son actually being a professional comic book artist thrills me to no end.

Chelsea on the other hand, she's down at USC, and I'm calling her and calling her, she's not getting back, and then she calls me about one in the afternoon and she says "Well, we were at brunch all morning with my friends." I said, "Well, when are you voting?" "Oh, I'll do it, I'll do it." And then the clock goes on and on, but by 4:30 in the afternoon, I gave her a phone call and said, "Look, I've never questioned your wardrobe bills, or anything, I mean I'm one of those easy types as a dad. If I can provide it for them, and I have the money to do it, I'm gonna give them the stuff that I didn't get to have when I was a kid. But if you don't vote, you are so out of the will."

Well, I'm just so excited because we have a once in a lifetime opportunity, I believe, to vote for a once in a lifetime candidate. Now you do the math, but I've voted in nine presidential elections. But the truth of the matter is, there's candidates I've really liked, candidates I've thought, "Well, he's not so bad," candidates where you kind of hold your nose and say, "Well, he's better than the other guy." And that's what is so thrilling to me to encounter someone like Barack Obama who is so brilliant, so intelligent, so measured, has exhibited such great judgement, who has, through his very life experience illustrated the kind of qualities that I want in a leader.

Hi, I'm Mark Hamill and I want all my friends in Pennsylvania will gather up all their friends on April 22 and vote for a candidate who once in a lifetime comes our way, Barack Obama.

-------------------------

They basically beat me up eight hours a day, five days a week, and that was more on the second picture where I really had to do a lot more than I did in the first one. But it sure made me appreciate stuntmen, I'll tell you what, cause the only stunt I didn't do in Empire was the spring board throught the glass on the Death Star and the British people said that based on what Mark's done, this is a piece of cake. Cause if you can do a flip off of a diving board, that's all you have to do, right outside the candy glass, which is made of lollipop material, you're not gonna get that. And then they have all these beacons boxes or whatever these companies with mattresses and a ring of stuntment around those boxes so you do just one flip through the glass, land on your back, and when you bounce, they're gonna catch you and not let you hit the deck.

So I wasn't worried about that, but the insurance people went crazy, because the day my son was born they promised me I got to go to the hospital no matter what it was, whether we were shooting or not, so as it turned out, we went, and she had the baby at two in the morning, and I was supposed to have the next day off but they called me about midday and said "Come in and just get one shot. I know we told you you're gonna have the day off but just this one thing, just this one little thing." So I said, "Okay." Now, I'll tell you what it was, it was the walker sequence out in the snow, the big walkers. And they needed a shot of me in that orange jumpsuit with the gappling gun. It's against green screen. It was fake salt snow for the ground and we'd already done the major sequence up in Norway. And all I had to do was act like I saw it coming over my head and they had a thing to make a shadow go over me and when the shadow came over me, fire the gappling gun and hit the deck. And of course when I came and they got me all done up with the helmet and the visor, and you look throught the lens and you're about...in England they call that a gorilla smoking a pipe shot.

And I said, "What do you mean, what's a gorilla smoking a pipe shot?" "Well, I mean, just...it could be anybody. It could be talking anybody. A gorilla smoking a pipe, mate. It's not just you." "Why'd you get me in here?" "Well they got you, don't they?" And sure enough! If you watch the movie - well, the reason I want to say this is I got injured. When I jumped to hit the deck, I had the lightsaber, or the gappling gun in my hand and I sprained my thumb. And you would never guess that would be a dangerous shot at all. And what happened was, they had to postpone some of the swordfighting, because we did the sequence with Vader over a really long period of time time, it was like six weeks but spread apart and they had to reschedule because I could hold the lightsaber properly, all because of the gorilla smoking a pipe shot.

-------------------------

I mean, how much Kool-Aid have people partaken of? I mean, I was trying to focus on the play, when I go home I'd be writing my lines and seeing this on the news, and the only person that was talking any sense, that I could see, were people like Phil Donahue, before they fired him at MSNBC for being not war-mongering enough. So, I thought it was ludicrous on his face (?), he's contained, there's a no fly zone, the minute he tries to do anything, we're gonna bomb him back into the stone age. Don't tell me we're gonna have to send our sons and daughters in uniform over to take out a bad guy, I mean there's bad guys all over the world.

That's why we need the measure, judgement of someone like Barack. If he was our president, we never would have gone there, never would have gone there. And I think that one of his strongest bases is young people, if we get you all out. Like I say, this guy's not just 80% there for me, he's off the charts. And the more I discover about him, the more I know he's the right choice. If you haven't been to his website, or clicked on YouTube and seen some of his speeches - and I mean, I'm telling you, he's given speeches that...any one of them would have been a career high for any politician. And he's given like, eight of them just in this election cycle. I mean it's astonishing...this eloquent man that is someone, I'm telling you, I just don't know what I'll do if he doesn't become our next president. And I want you to help accomplish that.

You know, when we made the first George Lucas film, he said, "We'll want you to do two more if it's popular." And then it turned out that it was popular. So he said "we're going to do another one." And I said "Well what are we going to call it? Not Star Wars 2." He said, "No, we're going to call it the Empire Strikes Back." But then we're going to have to give a sub-title to the first one to distinguish it from whatever we call the third one, which the third one was 'Revenge of the Jedi' until all the Star Wars geeks said "wait a minute, Jedi's don't take revenge." Now, one of the fans said "worst title ever."

And George is all like "Oh man. I never thought about that." Eventually he got it out, he got to say Revenge of the...yeah, I almost said the anagram for that. You know, switch the letters around.

-------------------------

I think if they took a test, the Emperor would have a much higher IQ. And that's another thing. To have someone as eloquent as Barack speaking is like a revelation after eight years of this sort of monosyllabic SOMETHING - proned moron....hope I'm not too out of line. Oooh do I hate the Bushes. God. It's just disgusting. And that's why I'm hoping, the polls are tightening, we could really pull it off. If he pulls within 5 points, or prays...every...you know, if he could beat her here, then it's over, then we could really buckle down and use this time, which we should be using to mount our campaign against the Republicans. And God forbid it goes to August. If we have only eight weeks between the selection of the candidate and the election, I don't want to be doom and gloom, but a lot of the nine to ten of the last presidential elections, the party that selected their candidate the earliest has won. So it's very frustrating to me.

You asked theater questions, too. I've been on Broadway five times, I did an off-Broadway show in the first tour of Amadeus. I love the theater. In Hollywood, they have no idea, I got a drama best nomination for best actor in a musical and I thought "I'll go to this party and everybody's gonna be praising me."

They thought I was in the __?__ business. Cause I'd been out of town, for, you know, a year and a half, doing out of towns, and then the Broadway version, and they had no idea, Aldie Chira Rivera, a theater person comes up to me and says "Oh I loved you in the show and blah blah blah. So I'm just trying to warn you now, that even though you love theater and I love theater, in Hollywood not so much."

And you know, Nathan Lane is like the star of stars on Broadway, and in Hollywood "Oh do you know that failed sitcom, yeah, yeah, we don't know him so much. He's wonderful. Did you have theater questions? Cause I can answer theater questions too. ]

--------

And that's that. It's kind of a lot I know. But I thought it was pretty awesome.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land