Fixing electric fences, ocean, bullshitty culminating project process

April 04, 2008, 11:13 p.m.

So, I believe the last time I wrote was on Monday and I was complaining about not wanting to go to my riding lesson.

It ended up being awesome though, the whole electrical fencing system was down and so I helped fix fences for 3 hours. I felt quite useful. And proud of myself because I now have some knowledge of how electric fences work.

Anyhow, a lot seems to have happened since then. Sort of. Tuesday was both a lesson and work day, Wednesday I went to work, and then that night we left for the ocean. It took 2 hours to get there.

To get to the ocean you have to drive through Aberdeen. When you get to Aberdeen, you go past a sign that says "Welcome to Aberdeen" and then below that the sign says "Come As You Are" and so then if you know anything about Nirvana, you think "Oh cool, this is where Kurt Cobain is from." But then when you actually drive through the town you realize that it is kind of a shit-hole ('scuse the language). Most of the houses are small, run-down and dumpy. There is the feeling that not all that much goes on there...

Although to look on the more positive side, the landscape itself is pretty, and you don't have to drive far to get out to where the horses are. Big plus in my book.

So I took a few pictures at the beach. Well, actually, I guess that could be considered and understatement. I believe I took about 135 or so. A lot of them turned out quite nice. I'm definitely getting the hang of my new camera, I am understanding its operation better and am able to take better, more correctly exposed pictures. I think in the long run this will help me using my mom's film camera (Pentax K1000 SE, hell yeah)

So I had a pretty good week.

I really am not ready to go back to school though. I hate going back to school after having been on a vacation. And it doesn't help that the first thing that happens when we go back is a bunch of nonsense bullshit that they're going to stuff down our throats and label it a graduation requirement.

It's quite frustrating. Yes, I understand that senior/culminating projects are a graduation requirement and they are important. But why on earth do they have to be so incredibly picky and anal about every single little detail? Come ON. This is my fifth year of high school, I am sick to death of this, I just want to hurry up and graduate. I need this diploma.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land