John McCain and "My friends"

March 04, 2008, 7:06 p.m.

"I am trying to figure out whether, in some universe where John McCain did not *constantly* use the phrase �my friends�, I might dislike him slightly less.

Seriously�it makes me crazy."

"I just watched McCain�s victory speech tonight after the WI primary. I now understand your point and was looking for things to throw at the TV. I lost count on how many times he said 'my friends'."

"I hate when he says, 'My friends.' McCain is not my friend."

"Wouldn't John McCain's speeches make for a great drinking game? Every time he says "My friends," every one has to chug a beer."

"My friends. My friends.
reminds me of �Bob Dole likes congress.� Bob Dole. Bob Dole.

/my friends."

"I wonder who he thinks he�s referring to every time he says �my friends�. He certainly has very few."

"Are we seriously going to have to listen to him refer to us all as his "friends" until November?"

"Every time he says, "My friends," it's like fingernails on a chalkboard."

"If I had $1 for every time he says "my friends" I'd be a wealthy man."

"It's not just presumptuous, but wrong, and downright creepy, like McCain every time he says "my friends.""

Did he really say that?
As the JetBlue charter from Michigan touched down in South Carolina, I strolled up to John McCain's front-row seat -- none of his aides batted an eye -- and asked if he would continue to chat with reporters around the clock if he won the Republican nomination.

Most candidates, after all, grow more cautious around the media mob as the stakes get higher.

McCain said he couldn't stop, because "that destroys credibility." And besides, he said, "I enjoy it a lot. It keeps me intellectually stimulated, it keeps me thinking about issues, and it keeps me associated with a lower level of human being than I otherwise would be."

There he goes again.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land