I HATE SCHOOL, my 19th birthday is in 2 days, America sucks as a place to raise kids

January 07, 2008, 9:16 p.m.

I HATE SCHOOL. I HATED BEING BACK IN THAT STUPID 1950 BUILDING. AFTER THREE WEEKS OF NOT FEELING AWKWARD AND ALONE AND QUIET AND WEIRD AND LOVING IT I HAD TO GO BACK AND ENDURE SUCH TORTURE. FROM 8:30 UNTIL 3:30. I WAS DOWNTOWN UNTIL 4:00. I AM NOT USED TO THAT. DO YOU KNOW HOW DEPRESSING IT WAS AT 3:15 AND NOT BEING IN THE CAR HEADED TO THE STABLES FOR A RIDING LESSON OR TO GO TO WORK? (I really like scooping poop - it makes me feel accomplished, like I'm actually doing something worthwhile.)

I DIDN'T GET HOME UNTIL 4:30. DAMN IT.

AND NOW I HAVE TO GO BACK IN ABOUT 11 HOURS. AND I DON'T EFFING WANT TO.

Anyway...we watched "Born In Brothels" today. The kids profiled in there came from nothing and they were in horrible situations, but it totally struck me how genuinely pleasant and nice they were. Unlike America's kids. Spoiled effing rotten, either bouncing off the walls or glued to the couch destroying their eyes with their constant screen-watching.

I decided that if I were to ever have kids (and believe me, I don't plan on it, nor do I ever plan to ever let there be any chance of a so called "accident") I would not raise them here in America, I would either take them to Canada or Europe. Or New Zealand. Granted, those countries (or continents) have a lot as well, but at least they would have a better chance of growing up bilingual and they'd have a more developed and rounded world view. The world does not revolve around the US.

America has too much. That is the problem. Well, one of them. The other is that parents are too overprotective and don't let kids make mistakes. No, they have to swoop down and protect their precious children as soon as little Tommy gets himself in a jam.

Good god, THROW UP.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land