Some Songs of the Summer

August 28, 2007, 11:57 a.m.

In The Light

I keep trying to find a life
On my own, apart from you
I am the king of excuses
Ive got one for every selfish thing I do

Whats going on inside of me?
I despise my own behavior
This only serves to confirm my suspicions
That Im still a man in need of a savior

(chorus)
I wanna be in the light
As you are in the light
I wanna shine like the stars in the heavens
Oh, lord be my light and be my salvation
Cause all I want is to be in the light
All I want is to be in the light

The disease of self runs through my blood
Its a cancer fatal to my soul
Every attempt on my behalf has failed
To bring this sickness under control

Tell me, whats going on inside of me?
I despise my own behavior
This only serves to confirm my suspicions
That Im still a man in need of a savior

(repeat chorus)

Honesty becomes me
[theres nothing left to lose]
The secrets that did run me
[in your presence are defused]
Pride has no position
[and riches have no worth]
The fame that once did cover me
[has been sentenced to this earth]
Has been sentenced to this earth

Tell me, whats going on inside of me?
I despise my own behavior
This only serves to confirm my suspicions
That Im still a man in need of a savior

(repeat chorus 2x)

[theres no other place that I want to be]
[no other place that I can see]
[a place to be thats just right]
[someday Im gonna be in the light]
[you are in the light]
[thats where I need to be]
[thats right where I need to be]

--DC Talk

Breakfast Song

Hold the milk, put back the sugar
They are powerless to console
We�ve gathered here to sprinkle ashes
From our late friend�s cereal bowl.

Breakfast Clubbers, say the motto
That he taught us to repeat:
�You will lose it in your gym class, if you wait til noon to eat�.

Back when the Chess Club said our eggs were soft
Every Monday he�d say grace and hold our juice aloft
Oh, none of us knew his checkout time would come so soon
But before his brain stopped waving, he composed this tune:

When the toast is burned
And all the milk has turned
And Captain Crunch is waving farewell
When the big one finds you may this song remind you
That they don't serve breakfast in hell

Breakfast clubbers, drop the hankies
Though to some our friend was odd,
that day he bought those pine pyjamas
His check was good with God

Those here without the lord,
How do you cope?
For this morning we don�t mourn
Like those who have no hope

Oh rise up, Fruit Loop lovers-
Sing out sweet and low
With spoons held high
We bid our brother �Cheerio!"

When the toast is burned
And all the milk has turned
And Captain Crunch is waving farewell
When the big one finds you may this song remind you
That they don't serve breakfast in hell

--Newsboys

Lean on Me

[Oldie but a goodie]
[1, 2, 3, funky]
[True MC, True MC]
[Everybody listens to the True MC]

True MC, no slack on the track
Here to tell the people that love's what we lack
In this family we gotta love like Christ
So precise in your life so take this advice
Brother to brother we need to learn to love each other
So lean on me when you're in trouble
I cast my cares on Christ 'cause He cares for me
So when you need a shoulder to cry on, just lean

[Props to my man speedy, 1, 2, 3]

Lean on me, when you're not strong
And I'll be your friend, I'll help you carry on
For it won't be long 'til
I'm gonna need somebody to lean on

Sometimes in our lives
We all have pain, we all have sorrows
But, if we are wise
We know that there's always tomorrow

Please, swallow your pride
If I have things that you need to borrow
For, no one can fill those of your needs
If you won't let them show

You just call on your brother when you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on
I just might have some problems that you'd understand
We all need somebody to lean on

Make it funky, make it funky
Make it funky, make it funky
Make it funky, make it funky

Cause I'm housin' this joint
Like a brother with an attitude
And comin' straight so you best give me latitude
Leanin' on my boys from the word get go
And bein' there for them cause the Lord said so
Many of us just don't know what to do
Well take it here and now from the boy named true
Don't dog a brother out when he stumbles and falls
Just be there to lean on y'all

Call me, call me, just call me,
Call me, call me, just call me, lean on me
Don't you know that I'll be there, you can lean on me
Don't you know that I'll be there, you can lean on me
Don't you know that I'll be there, you can lean on me

- DC Talk version

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land