I got a letter from camp last week - it makes camp sound extremely not fun.

June 14, 2007, 9:50 a.m.

So I finally got a letter from camp last week. The first one I've gotten since the ones about the Hiring Weekend. I never got an acceptance letter, although Jessica said that I was on the list...I haven't even paid yet!

So, the letter is as follows...I don't even know why I'm bothering to type this out, I must be really bored.


May 2007

Dear Lauren,
Hello again from Miracle Ranch. It was great to see all of you at the BBQ. For those I didn't see it was a great time! I look forward to seeing you in a few weeks! I hope you are as encouraged as I am about this summer. What a great team God has assembled! Here's one final letter full of important information. We are preparing as you read this for your arrival I can tell you we can't wait for you to get here!

Arrival: Thursday, June 21st @ 5:00 PM. Staff Training Week - CIT / WIT Staff Intro's and Dinner
This will be the evening we highlight our High School Program for the college staff. This is the optimal arrival date and time, especially for those who can easily get home on Saturday. Plan to stay the night Thursday and Friday with your counselor for the summer. Saturday will be a regular day off. I know that some of you have given me a variety of times all of you can arrive, so make sure we know when you are done with school and can move in.

Sunday, June 24th @ 1:00 PM: first check in day - Mandatory participation
This is the second best choice for arrival. We want you to be a part of the staff photo and participate in the first Check-in day of summer 2007. Any arrivals after this day please arrange in writing or Email.

Parent Permission: We need to have a note on file at camp explaining your parents expectations for you regarding driving or riding in cars. Also expectations for time off on Saturdays. (See Program Description #7-#8). I have noted your days away from camp as ___. And your tuition is $400.

What To Bring: Housing at camp is cozy, so thing small. However, we want you to feel comfortable, so bring things to make your cabin/room a home.

  • You'll need a pillow, and a sleeping bag or linens for a bunk-sized mattress.
  • A flashlight, wind-up alarm clock, and an inexpensive watch will all come in handy.
  • Jeans and boots (especially WIT's!) shorts, T-shirts, tennis shoes or sandals.
  • Don't forget a swmisuit (modest one-piece gals :-)).
  • Bring a few things for cooler weather too and possibly rain.
  • Don't forget all your personals. We do have laundry facilities here at camp. (.50 wash/.50 dry).
  • A Bible is a must and a concordance is a helpful tool.
  • Bring a pen, notebook paper and envelopes to answer all your camper mail (we'll provide the postage).
  • We encourage all the summer staff to attend one of the local churches on Sunday mornings, so bring a couple outfits for this and other potential "dress-up" occasions.
  • Don't forget your Old West costumes for Sunday check-in and cabin pictures.
  • "Dress-up" nights at dinner that include events like "Western night", "70's night", "twin night", "wild hair", "dress up your counselor", etc.
  • You will have plenty of opportunities to perform in front of the campers, so basically anything goofy or a little out of the ordinary will be an asset at some time during the summer. Your stories and skits will add to our resources.
  • Bring a musical instrument that you can play during staff meetings.
  • Any "personal property" such as Sports Equipment, Electronic devices, Firearms, Weapons, Explosives, Vehicles brought to camp whether to be used in program or not, must be inspected and approved prior to use by the camp director. Once approved any equipment must be stored away from the cabin under lock and the employee assumes all risk. (YEAH RIGHT LIKE I'M GOING TO HAVE MY LAPTOP SEARCHED...)
  • Bicycles may be used for exercise but riders must wear protective head gear, and park bicycles away from camp activity areas and the employee assumes all risk.
  • No summer staff animals or pets will be allowed at camp.
  • All medications, prescription or over the counter must be logged into the Health Station.
  • Alcohol, illegal drugs or tobacco products are strictly prohibited for all summer staff.

    Camp Schedule: Camp runs from Sundays at 1:00 PM until approximately 12:00 PM on Saturdays. To maintain continuity in our program, we ask that staff members keep to a minimum any commitments that will interfere with them being at camp during these times. Any time away must be approved by the Director prior to June 1 (heh, then why didn't I get it before June 5? That's when it was postmarked). This means if you have weddings, dental appointments, etc., that you must attend, please let me know immediately, so that I can begin planning to cover your area of responsibility. YOur time off on Saturday is for you to rest and relax in order to prepare for the following week. We will plan to do a couple optional staff activities throughout the summer on Saturdays.

    Mail: "Your name" - Miracle Ranch

    Phone: There is one pay phone to call out.

    Email: If you have an email account somewhere that you can access using telnet, you will be able to send / receive email. (What the heck is telnet?) It would be helpful if you became familiar with how to Telnet to your mail server before you get here. We can give a demo during staff training, but you will need to know the registered domain name of the mail server that hosts your account and your "login" (user name, password).

    Cell Phone: Cell phones may be used for calls made on team members free time. Cell phones may not be carried during on duty activity periods. Campers are not allowed to use team members cell phones wich should be secured and the employee assumes all risk. (Yeah, well I'm going to do the same as I did last summer and carry it with me everywhere - I hate watches.)

    Visitors: Family and friends are encouraged to visit on Saturday your day off or Sunday afternoons and not during camp sessions. Any visitations during a camp session muist be approved by the Director prior to their arrival.

    Music: Years of experience have caused us to formulate the following policy regarding recorded music at camp. We do not allow the campers to bring radios, walk-man, disc-man, etc. to camp, and so we ask that the summer staff also not use any of these items during camp. Staff will be allowed to use radios, etc. on Saturdays, as long as the staff member is sensitive to the musical tastes of those within earshot. Anything larger than a portable radio is not appropriate for ccamp. All music used for program purposes must be approved by the Program Director. (Yet again....I don't really have any intentions of following this rule, I'm bringing my CD player and mp3 player and my CDs...it's a bit different when you live up in the roost with only other staff members. I think this rule applies more to counselors and CITs who live with the campers.)

    What a blessing! Of all the people He could have brought here, He has chosen you, to be a team member at Miracle Ranch this summer! I can't wait to meet each one of you and watch you grow in your faith as we serve Jesus together!

    God bless you,

    Mr. Smee
    Program Director


    Well. He sure has a way with words....in that he makes it sound horribly unappealing. I much prefer Jessica's take on it - that the summer will be one big party - with work involved of course, but it will be a party!

    Ugh...I was a little excited today, but reading that makes it seem like this huge looming two month long obstacle.

    Man. I don't know.

    I'm going to start making a list soon though of what I should bring.

    My laptop, my big screen TV, my dvd player, my fridgerator, my big huge speakers and audio system, my bed...I also plan on hogging all the walls with my posters of the Beatles.

    Nahh....but oh wow I'm really hungry. It's 11:12 PM now.

    I'm so hungry right now I kind of almost feel like getting sick. I better get some food or something.

  • << | >>

    Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
    Design | D-land