Vandalized birdhouses, Virginia Tech massacre

April 16, 2007, 10:22 p.m.

So Matt and Mr. Luthy and I went to check on our birdhouses (or rather, nestboxes) today, only to find that about 18/23 of them had been destroyed, smashed into pieces. It was really frustrating. We spent over FIVE MONTHS making those birdhouses/nestboxes and then some guys with their ATVs come along (even when they're totally not supposed to be using ATVs in the park - it is illegal actually, I believe) and say "oh hey, there's lots of birdhouses around, I hate birds and I have nothing better to do so I think I will destroy these birdhouses because I just feel like it."

Jeezus. It makes me mad.

Anyway....soo....today there was a massacre of 32 (33 including the killer himself) people at a college called Virginia Tech. That is the largest killing at a school in the history of this country. Dang. It is really horrible.

Right now, I don't really have anything political to say. All I can think of to say is that I feel for the families and loved ones of the victims and I hope that they are able to find a source of peace and comfort in this horrible point in time.

This is way bigger in magnitude than Columbine. It's amazing. In the bad way. This will never be forgotten.

<< | >>

Current | Archives | Profile | Fans | Comments
Design | D-land